Nike Air VaporMax

Nike Air Vapor Max

Here they are… the Nike Air VaporMax in the platinum colorway. These were released on March 25, 2017 for $255. Upon seeing pictures of this shoe, my first impression was “these look terrible”, but I have to say, they have grown on me. The large air pockets makes this shoe unique, and without the need for a midsole, these are one of the lightest shoes on the market.  I was hesitant on purchasing these shoes, because I wasn’t in love with them and there were asking top dollars. However, with all they hype surrounding them, I couldn’t resist and I decided to order them. And was I glad I did! But really, it was interesting. It took me a day after release date to decide that I would buy a pair. Both men’s and women’s shoes were sold out on Nike.com, however, Nike.ca still had women’s sizing available and I snatched a pair. I was surprised, I guess the shoe game in Canada isn’t as big it is in the USA.

Now, lets get this straight, I don’t ever plan on running in these, and in fact, I hate running (I’m more into interval training). For me, the VaporMax are lifestyle shoes. Oh, they are designed for running, but personally, I’m using them for casual wear. Again, they might look “ugly” but once you have them in hand, and then see them on feet, they look amazing!

I haven’t had much time to wear them to give an honest review, but here is my 2 cents. First, they aren’t as comfortable as the Adidas Ultraboost 1.0 or 2.0. The Ultraboost provide a more mushy but comfortable feel, whereas the VaporMax provides a more springy but stiff feel. In all honestly, I don’t think I weigh enough to get the full benefit or comfort from the VaporMax – maybe if I was running and putting a larger load on the air pockets -yes, but just walking around, no. Second, the flyknit and flywires are nice features. The material is soft and the flywires really help wrap the shoe around your feet. The one-piece upper is great, there are little to no seams, making it really comfortable. I didn’t have any problems putting the shoes on, it had a large enough opening and the material was stretchy enough to slide my feet into the shoe. With Ultraboost, I usually order a size 7, but with the VaporMax I ordered a 7.5 and they feel great.

Overall, I am extremely happy with the Nike VaporMax. Ya, it’s pricey, but for an innovative and unique shoe, it is worth it. Nike is set to release other color ways this summer and I may just pick up another pair. Let me know in the comments what you think of the shoe! Cheers!

20170412_162411

20170412_162523-e1492110024148.jpg20170412_162631.jpg

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

